Monday, October 10, 2005

The Olympian Gods

There were a group of twelve ruling gods who ruled after the Titans were overthrown.

Zeus, Poseidon, Hades, Hestia, Hera, Ares, Athena, Apollo, Aphrodite, Hermes, Artemis, Hephaestus

Later Hestia gave her position of one of the ruling gods to Dionysus because she became tired of the petty problems between the other gods.

Other Gods

There were many Greek gods who were not part of the ruling counsil of Mt. Olympus.

Demeter, Persephone, Eros, Hebe, Eris, Helios, Thanatos, Pan, Nemesis, The Graces, The Muses, The Furies, The Fates

The Titans

Before the Olympian gods there were the Titans. The Titans were overthrown by Zeus before the creation of mankind.

Cronus, Gaea, Uranus, Rhea, Oceanus, Tethys, Hyperion, Mnemosyne, Themis, Iapetus, Coeus, Phoebe, Thea, Prometheus, Epimetheus, Atlas, Metis